A rainbow surprise!

After making my rather cool (if I do say so myself) hidden carrot cake, I have been inspired to do different baking. I really really really would like to eventually have my own baking business. I have talked about it a lot, but I am actually going to make it happen! In order for that to happen, I have to do stuff that is popular, as well as get to grip with some techniques. I have been looking at tutorials on youtube and craftsy. I even made my own marshmallow fondant icing from one tutorial that will go on another cake later – I’ll save the details for the next post!

I saw a great idea for a hidden little rainbow in a big cupcake from Rosie Cake-Diva (video tutorial here). So I went off today to the shops and bought a cake pop mould. I mixed up a madeira cake mixture (from the same series of video tutorials) and mixed 5 different colours. I put them into little piping bags (and if you are like me and get cake mixture all over the top of the bag, just stick it in a glass and then spoon it in…honestly, it was brilliant and I wondered why I had never thought of doing it before!), and then you pipe a bit of each colour in. I did some that weren’t quite round when the came out, so you need to make sure you fill over 1/2 way.

Bag in a glass saves mess!

Bag in a glass saves mess!

Coloured cake mixture

Coloured cake mixture

Don't they look cool!

Don’t they look cool! Fill a little more than I have though!

I popped them in the oven for about 17 mins at 160°C and then pop the out! They look soooo cool. I have lots of ideas of other things you could do with them…very exciting!

Little balls of beauty

Little balls of beauty

Then I made up some more cake mixture – just plain, and put a bit in the bottom of the cake wrapper, squashed in a ball and filled it up on top. Back in the oven for about 20 mins or so.

Filled up to go in oven

Filled up to go in oven

Cake balls in wrappers

Cake balls in wrappers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then put on some butter icings (actually whisked with egg whites, sugar and butter (well I used stork marg and butter as I didn’t have enough butter!) and added sprinkles! Woo!

Yummy butter icing and sprinkles!

Yummy butter icing and sprinkles!

I think next time I might do the 2nd lot of cake mixture just a normal sponge, rather than the madeira cake. It was quite heavy. Apparently it is good for things to keep their shape and not move around, but I think they need to be lighter. Also I think the balls need to be pushed further down as they tend to float up a bit! You can freeze them, but then I had trouble cooking the cake fully when I did that with the carrot cake. Have you had a go before? I will experiment! 

Let me know what you think…what else could I do with these little balls?

Finished rainbow cake

Finished rainbow cake!

4 thoughts on “A rainbow surprise!

  1. Excellent – I’ve seen some beautiful rainbow/ombre layered cakes on Pinterest but never sure I’d have the patience to colour all the cake mix etc! I’m also a bit of a recipe maverick, so just can’t follow everything to the letter!! Have you seen the ‘piñata’ cakes too? With smarties inside?

    • Thanks Vanessa, I do like rainbows. My book I am writing is based on rainbows, so will have to go in here I think! I have seen the pinata cakes…I have made a rainbow cake before with all sorts of sweeties inside…very much liked by the girls! 🙂

Leave a Reply

