Happy St. George’s Day! Piquanté pepper and bacon baps!

 Well I thought I best do something a little different today seen as it is St George’s Day!

I am trying to get good at bread now, so I am reading these magazine issues: http://bread.insanelyinterested.com/issue/issue-1/ The editions are free from 2012, and then look a reasonable price for 2013 and current editions. I am literally reading the first.

I haven’t tried the old sourdough thing yet which seems very popular at the moment, and in all these books and websites I am looking at, so just have fast action yeast from a packet. It has always done me well. I’ve tried the fresh stuff, but never got much of a difference…I am sure I’ll be learning more about it soon. The recipe was as follows:

  • 12oz of strong white bread flour
  • 4 oz of granary flour
  • About 2tsp salt and 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 sachet of yeast
  • Water to make it up – I’m afraid I never measure it out, I just pour it in and mix until it is about right! 

filling

I made the dough and when it was ready, I knocked it back, rolled it out and put chopped up piquanté peppers and cooked bacon on top, and kneaded it all in. Oh yum! I think 2 rashers of bacon and about 4 peppers…but I wasn’t really paying attention, just adding what looked right!

I made them into 3oz rolls (I’ve started weighing them as I am useless at getting them all the same size!) and left them to rise again whilst the oven was hotting up!

in the oven!

I made up some plain flour, water and red food colouring and whacked it in a piping bag and piped on crosses! A brush with some egg and then in the oven for about 20 mins.

 

 

 

I think that they turned out pretty well, and with a bit of cheese and butter…oh yum!

So what do you think? I would love to know your opinions as I am trying to get top notch at this stuff.

 

Thanks so much for taking the time to read!

the finished bread!

 

Oh yummy!

 

 

One thought on “Happy St. George’s Day! Piquanté pepper and bacon baps!

Leave a Reply

